Red Castle Lake: Eat you moron!

Do you know what happens when you pack food for your long training run but you don’t actually eat said food?  This….

https://giphy.com/embed/26FPy3QZQqGtDcrja

Friday afternoon I drove up to East Marsh Lake and snagged a campsite. I realized after I was settled that the actual trailhead was 2.6 miles to the south of where AllTrails said it was.  So my choices were to: move my campsite, drive to the trailhead, or suck up the extra 5 miles.  What kind of runner would I be if I didn’t suck up the extra 5 miles?  Plus. with the snow I was going to run in to I figured that by adding on the extra 5 I’d still be able to get the 20 in that I wanted to.

Saturday morning rolled around and the temperatures were in the teens.  Yes, you read that correctly teens.  In July.  I knew it was going to warm up as soon as the sun came up so baby trail dog and I snuggled up under every warm thing we had for another hour.   We got up and had some breakfast.  She managed to score a couple of sausages too.  Hey, she was going to run all the miles too.

I got my pack ready and I put all sorts of food in there.  I had Tailwind in my bag (with extra powder for my refill), M&Ms and dried bananas, and Picky Bars.  I tend to flavor my Tailwind light because mentally I need to actually chew something when I’m out there fora while.  So, I had 100 oz of water that should have had approximately eight scoops, instead I put four.  I packed the variety because I never know what I’m going to actually want.

As we started down the Forest Service Road I was in good spirits.  There was no time requirement I just wanted to get the 20 in.  We hit the trailhead and the trail was glorious.  No repeat of last weekend‘s rockfest!  Charlotte and I started clicking off the miles.  I’d stop for her to get a drink out of the creek at every opportunity.  Around mile 11 I realized something was wrong.  I was rapidly running out of gas, and that is definitely not a good thing when you are in the middle of no where.  That’s when I realized, hey moron you haven’t had anything to eat. I think the only reason why I didn’t crash and burn earlier is the little bit of Tailwind I had.

I reached into my pack and started shoving food down my face.  When I got to the creek right before Lower Red Castle Lake I stopped to use my filter to fill my water (which was almost gone) and add 4 scoops of Tailwind. I looked at the swollen creek and had to make a decision: push forward or turn around.  If I pushed forward I had to get my brain to function well enough to cross the creek without injuring myself and plan on a 26 mile day.  If I turned around I wouldn’t see the lake, but I’d get a 24 mile day in.  I opted for the turn around.

Going back was a struggle.  I was getting a hot spot in my foot from some sand I had picked up at some point.  I was ready for some shade.  Most of all, though, I just wanted to stop. My watch died after 6 hours.  I knew I still had another 5 miles to go.  When I reached the trailhead I was cursing my poor decision making skills.  As I trudged up the road to the campground all I kept thinking about is the food I was going to eat.  Irony, I didn’t think about food all morning and now all I could think about was food.

When we finally hit the campground (24.22 miles), I tied Charlotte to the picnic table, got her food out of the trunk and just as I started to get food out of the cooler I saw two notes on my windshield.  “This campsite has been previously rented 7/1-7/4 you must leave.”  ARE YOU KIDDING ME???  I burst into tears right there on the spot.  The whole reason why I decided to camp was to avoid being on my feet all day and then get in the car.  So, I threw everything in the car with no rhyme or reason and started making my way back to Park City.

Lessons learned: 2

-Drive to the trailhead.

-EAT!!!

Miles completed: 24.22

Total run time: 8 hours

Blisters: 1

Sunburns: 1

All in all, despite the challenges I’m very proud of my day.  Longest run in almost a year.  I’m still in one piece, my lungs felt ok(ish), and I live to run another day.

One thought on “Red Castle Lake: Eat you moron!

Leave a Reply

