Week 2: Sprint to the Summit 12k

My second week at elevation can pretty much be summarized by this number: 5,062′. That is the amount of up I have climbed in the last seven days.  No wonder why my ass is sore!   I’ve managed to meet this awesome group of runners: the Wasatch Mountain Wranglers. Between the runs during the week and the Sunday runs out of the Park City Running Company I’m starting to meet some really amazing folks.

Earlier this week I went out water testing with Nate one the guys from work.  We went up into the Summit Park neighborhood.  He brought me by the trailhead and said he’d never done it, but had always been curious about it.  Little did I know I’d be running it TWICE this week on Thursday and once on Sunday.

IMG_3420Thursday I met the Wranglers at the same trailhead Nate had pointed out two days earlier.  I have to say this, despite my absolute slowness there is always at least one person waiting at the intersections.  I try to keep one of them in view, but sometimes I just can’t go any faster.  Charlotte on the other hand, I think, would much rather be with the fast kids especially now that I bought her a cooling coat.  However, sometimes letting the fast kids go has its perks. Like when I run up on them and ask them why they are stopped.  They all pointed. “SNAKE!”  Yep, sometimes it pays to be slow.

After being tortured with overhead squats at CrossFit on Friday and going out to the mountains on Saturday (which will be it’s own post), Sunday I was back at the same trail head only this time for a “race”.  It’s more of a potluck fun run, but the course was IMG_3471marked and we get times and bibs so I guess you could call it a race.  Having been out there on Thursday I knew that some of the sections of up were going to be brutal.  I tucked myself and Charlotte into the back and watched the fast kids scamper off.   Man are they fast!  I saw one of their splits just above mine on Strava.  His per mile time? 11 minutes.  Mine?  16:45.  Sigh.  Charlotte and I managed to hang with a couple of the Wranglers until the 12k/5k course split.

I had given a ride over to a bunch of folks from the Running Co. and Linda was one of IMG_3474them.  She is an experienced road runner who has just come over to the dark side to trail running.  This was her 5th trail run.  She and I stuck together for the rest of the course encouraging each other along the way.   Team Caboose!  It was nice having someone to chat with along the way.  She’s a super interesting human with lots of stories to tell.  I hope I get to spend more time with her out on the trails.

We chugged long on the trail going only as fast as the other could go.  We joked that maybe we should have pulled the course markings as we went along to save them a trip.  When we hit the road to the finish line we finished it together.   She even managed to win an award for her age category!  Granted, almost everyone else was gone, but I’m damn proud of that 7 miles.  Probably the hardest 7 miles I’ve ever put in.

Each run is slowly getting better.  I won’t say easier, but better.  My lungs don’t necessarily want to explode any more.  I will take that as progress.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

