Escalante: Scientifically proven to improve my running

It’s no secret I’m an Altra Running girl.  The overflowing basket by my door is filled with Lone Peaks and Torins of many generations.  I have my running shoes, then they get down graded to my wear around campus shoes, then they get downgraded to yard work shoes with their final destination when they are well past worn to the recycle bin at the local running store.

Recently I acquired a pair of Escalante.  I’ve been doing more running on pavement lately and I wanted to try something beyond the Torin.  (Hey in my defense don’t ever knock a shoe that you love.) From the moment I put them on my feet I was in love.  The dreamy feel of the knit made me feel like I was walking on a cloud.  I’m going to have to buy another pair of these just for dashing across campus.

Then I actually ran in them.  My GPS watch tells me my per minute foot strike.   The running clinics I have participated in and many articles all say that same thing, as a runner you should aim for 180 as your number.  In my Torins even when doing “speed work” (I’m slow so speed is relative) my average number is around 162 plus or minus 5.  My first run in the Escalante doing the same speed work? 179.  I couldn’t make this up if I tried.

I took them out for a spin a couple of days last week and they were ever so dreamy.  My first run I was only going to do 2 miles and I wound up doing 3, including one down the shoulder of a 4 lane highway because I didn’t want to turn around at the 1 mile mark.  Then I took them out on the streets of Annapolis.  If you’ve never been there many of the streets and sidewalks are “paved” with brick.  Brick is awful to run on.  I finished a 4.5 mile run over mainly brick streets and felt great.

Overall, I’m highly impressed with this shoe.  I’d better go order another pair for school.  I don’t want to ever take these off my feet.  Now, if we could just fix my lungs….

 

Leave a Reply

