Joyful double digits

It’s been two months to the day since I’ve done a double digit run.  I’ve been trying to be super careful coming back in an attempt to, I don’t know, NOT break me again.  With the Asheville Half Marathon coming up I needed to start ramping up my mileage to ensure that I was going to be able to crush last year.  Ok, ok, crush may be a bit too harsh of a word.  Let’s try: I want to do better than I did last year.

Em is back and I couldn’t be more thrilled about it.  I love running with her.  Not saying I don’t love running with all of my friends, but Em is my favorite (shhh, don’t tell anyone else).  When she asked if I wanted to go for a run I unequivocally said HELL YES!  I told her I needed to do 10 miles, but I wanted to go “my slow”.  Her slow and my slow are very different creatures.

We decided to do an out and back on the C&O Canal, but we parked further up river from Georgetown.  Fewer people and less hassle.  Today was one of those golden days of running.  Not too hot, not too cold.  My lungs were super happy.  Honestly, the miles flew by.  Even with a couple of stops along the way, one for a SUPER cute 9 week old puppy, we still managed to finish sub-2:00.

Today’s run was exactly what I wanted it to be. Joyful.  We gossiped, we laughed, we spoke of all sorts of winding topics, but at the end of it all I felt was happy.  That, my friends, is a good thing.


 

Leave a Reply

