16.1: Fire under my ass

Every year CrossFit  puts out a series of workouts which are completed around the globe racking and stacking elites and “normals” alike called the CrossFit Games.  These scores send folks to regionals, nationals, and maybe even the Open.  Last year, they added a ‘scaled’ division for those of us who, well, aren’t ready to play with the big kids.

Having just started CrossFit in October I didn’t think I should enter the games.  I wasn’t ready. ShooterGirl and CrossFit Runner both convinced me that since these workouts have a tendency to show up again and again that it would be a good idea for me to register.  That way I have a benchmark for myself to compete against.  I succumbed to their logic and registered.  Today was the first workout.

For the elites (and badasses) the workout was:

  • AMRP (as many rounds as possible) in 20 minutes
  • 25 feet walking overhead lunge (95lbs men/65lbs women)
  • 8 bar facing burpees
  • 25 feet walking overhead lunge
  • 8 chest to bar

For us “normals” the scaled workout was:

  • AMRP (as many rounds as possible) in 20 minutes
  • 25 feet walking front rack lunge (45lbs men/35lbs women)
  • 8 bar facing burpees
  • 25 feet walking front rack lunge
  • 8 jumping pullups

I was already worried about the workout before I even hit the box.  Burpees and I do not get along.  They make me wheeze.  No, let me clarify.  They set my lungs on fire to the point where breathing is like having a thousand hot needless stabbing my lungs.  When I arrived at the box I had the mindset that I was going to do how I was going to do and there wasn’t a damn thing I was going to be able to do about it.  I was in a very zen place about it.  Key word; was.

Now, my ex and I go to the same box.  It’s been fine post break up; he goes to a much later class than I do and I make sure that I am out of there way before he shows up.  Until today.  As CrossFit Runner headed for the bathroom out walks HIM. She didn’t know who HE was as she and I met after it all happened, but she said later she knew by my face who it was.  I wanted to scream at him WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU DOING HERE?  THIS IS NOT YOUR TIME. Oh, I was so hot.  Me angry and pissed off is not a combo that you ever want to experience.

IMG_8397I had to focus.  CrossFit Runner was going first.  She was going to do the non-scaled version of the workout because she’s a badass.  She has been busting her tail for months trying to get a consistent chest to bar.  As the clock started the only thing I focused on was counting her reps.  I knew she was going to rock it (and she did, of course.)  She was nailing every single round like a beast.  She finished up with an AWESOME score.  I couldn’t have been more awed or amazed by her.  I want to be her when I grow up.

Then it was my turn.  Now, I know burpees make me wheeze.  However, now I had a fire lit under my ass.  I didn’t know what his score was, but dammit I was on a mission to out perform him.  I’ve been busting my hump both in the box and out of the box.  Dammit, I just ran not one but two PRs last weekend.  I was angry and I was fired up.  Never poke the bear.

Right before my round started I handed CrossFit Runner my inhaler.  She since was going to be close I wanted it just in case my mind cashed a check my lungs couldn’t handle.  As the timer went off I went and I went hard.  So much so, that one of the coaches actually IMG_8405came over and not so gently reminded me that this was a 20 minute workout and that I needed to pace myself.  What I didn’t say at the time because, well, I was in the middle of burpees and trying to breathe was, “Look I just went through 2:33 minutes of pain and darkness last weekend and I am out to crush my ex; I’m pretty sure I can handle 20 minutes.”  However, again I didn’t say that; I just kept pushing.

The greatest thing ever about the Games is that you don’t have to count.  All I had to do was do count the individual movements.  It was glorious.  I just kept pushing.  As the clock started to tick down I wanted to finish the round I was on.  I was determined to finish the round I was on.  My lungs were on fire.  The kind of fire that I knew if I kept pushing too hard I was probably going to wind up in a very bad spot, but I was determined.  I stopped counting my individual movements and just started counting my inhalations to focus my breathing.  My thoughts were just, “Ignore the fire in your lungs and keep pushing.  Good air in, bad air out.” As they called time and we added up my rounds I had finished a total of 201 movements.  Holy crap are you kidding me??? Granted, I didn’t quite finish the round I was on, but I was damn close.

As I sat there struggling to get air into my lungs that were on fire I was actually incredibly pleased.  I still have no idea what his score was.  What I do know,  is that I just completed my first Games workout, I didn’t give myself an asthma attack, and I floored it. Bring on 16.2!  Fuck him. I’m there for me, but yeah, I still want to know.  I told you don’t poke the bear.

One thought on “16.1: Fire under my ass

Leave a Reply

