For the love of polka dot

My grandparents were dairy farmers and as with most farming families you never ever EVER bought anything new unless you aimg_7683-1bsolutely positively had to.  This extended down to the large pack grandchildren.  Clothes were passed down/around from cousin to cousin until they were threadbare and beyond repair.

My favorite time of year was when I got my cousins clothes.  She is a couple of years older than I am, but she always had the most awesome clothes.  The downside was that I was always trying on things like snowsuits in the middle of summer.   Even my First Communion dress was her hand-me-down!  Waste not want not.

One of the things that most people don’t talk about regarding weight loss is how freaking EXPENSIVE it is.  I’m not talking about the groceries or the exercise clothes.  No, no, I’m talking about things like underpants or, even worse, bras.  When you have dropped from a 16 to a 6 everything needs to be replaced.  Now, I was very lucky in the beginning that I inherited a closet full of clothes from a friend of mine.  Over time I have had multiple friends donate a couple pieces here and there which has been a God’s send.  That has allowed me to focus in on buy other necessities that you just can’t inherit (you know like bras and underpants).   However, what this has done is develop a bifurcated wardrobe.  I either had work clothes or exercise clothes and nothing in between.

Last weekend I was going to the movies with a friend.  I suddenly realized;  oh shit I have absolutely zero casual clothes.  All of the casual clothes I inherited were now way too big.  I needed to (wo)manned up and brave the mall set on a mission for a couple of pairs of jeans.  I begged Bella’s mom to go with me so that I wasn’t venturing into the mall the weekend before Christmas without a battle buddy.  Jokingly I posted up on Facebook my plight and seeking prayers for my sanity and survival.  My cousin retorted with, “What size are you now?”  When I responded to her I received in return, “Two boxes are in the mail.” HOT DIGGITY!!! Cousin clothes!!  It was like a was 6 all over again! I got so excited.
img_7658-1When the first box was delivered I opened it with giddy anticipation.  What kind of awesomeness was going to be in there? Jeans and shorts, oh my!! I immediately texted her to thank her. She asked if they fit and demanded evidence of such things.  (She was always the bossy big cousin so of course I had to comply.) She reminded me that another box was in the mail on its way.  I could barely contain my excitement.

Yesterday the second box was delivered.  I ripped into it barely containing my glee as multiple shirts poured out of the box.  More specifically polka dot shirts poured out of the box.  I absolutely love things that are polka dotted.  You can’t be angry when looking at polka dots.  You just can’t.  As I began to hang up the clothes in my closet replacing the ones that I was swimming in I kept saying, “Oh! I like that!” “Oh! That’s really nice!”

Now, anyone who has ever shopped for a female knows that finding one item that they like is nearly impossible, but an entire box full of clothes seems like a Christmas miracle.  Just ask my mother.  Bless her heart, but she and I are polar opposites when it comes to clothes.  Here I was, though, surrounded by an entire box of clothes that I loved.  When you think about it my cousin and I basically wore the exact same wardrobe as kids.  It only makes sense that we would have similar tastes as adults; for love of dot.

I now have casual clothes! Hooray! Now off to go see if Santa brought me underpants.  Wow, I never thought I’d ever say that. Wait, does Santa shop in the lingerie section?

Leave a Reply

