Altitude adjustment

If you had told me last year that I would be running, yes running, at altitude I would have told you you were crazy! This past weekend, though, I did just that with and I didn’t die (always a plus).

Back in January C asked me if I wanted to do the Dirty Dash with her. I was totally down for running in the mud!  Eventually we even managed to get her brother to join us. Knowing I was going from sea level to altitude I flew out to Colorado a few days before the race and C and I drove down to her parents place in New Mexico.

Her parents live in this gorgeous stretch of land, pretty much in the middle of no where.IMG_6875  My kind of people! Even the road they live on is dirt which suits me perfectly.  We pulled into her parents driveway and I was itching to go run the sunflower lined road.  As the sun started to droop in the sky I laced up received some last minute route suggestions from C and I was out the door.  It was amazingly beautiful.  Everyone thinks that New Mexico is flat.  Well, I’m here to tell you that there are most assuredly rolling hills in New Mexico even on the “flat” parts.  Over the course of the next few days I ticked up the miles all while still maintaining my 136 training heart rate zone.  I was absolutely stunned.

IMG_6904On day three of being in town C and I decided that we were going to descend Sandia Mountain.  We took the first tram up to the top and started down.  The views were just spectacular.  Only one tiny little problem.  The map said that our journey was 8 miles. Coconut (my TomTom multi-sport cardio) told us when we hit the car we had done 9.22.  Even better was seeing the burn rate of over 1200 calories!  That’s going DOWN the mountain.

Finally came mud run day.  We all piled into the farm truck (so as to not worry about making mama’s new car filthy) and headed down to the race.  The weather was perfect.  Not too hot (yet) not too cold.  Over, under, and through obstacles we went getting absolutely covered in mud, but totally enjoying the process.

IMG_6954You can’t tell from this picture, but let me assure you that we were ALL filthy.  Even after we used the hoses on site we still managed to grunge up Mama’s shower.  Oops.  One load of pre-wash and extra rinse later our clothes came out relatively clean.

I’m just so incredibly thrilled that I am not able to do all of these things.  Things that a year ago would have totally been out of reach.  Cargo nets, A frame walls, heck, even going DOWN the mountain.  Even better was that my wheezing was totally under control.  I couldn’t run with my inhaler so I just paced myself, focused on my breathing, and made sure that C knew where it was in the truck (just in case).  I’m just giddy beyond belief.  Next up?  Smoky Mountain Half Marathon!

Leave a Reply

