I think I broke my brothers

Last night we decided that we wanted to do the Elwha to Hurricane Hill hike.  Little did I know that this particular hike was going to allow me to kick my brothers asses, but it was going to demonstrate to me just how good of shape I’ve gotten in.

Now, let me start off with that this hike says strenuous.  I have racked my brain for 8 hours DSCN1684today to try to come up with another word beyond strenuous.  The only thing I can come up with is soul crushing.  This particular trail is 6.1 miles of straight up. Switchback after switchback of up.  I want to find the asshole who designed this particular trail.  What in the HELL were you thinking?  Or wait, am I the asshole for actually doing it?

This trail does cross almost every single cross section of eco-system in the park.  It is a beautiful hike.  I will say this, though, a year ago DSCN1694there is absolutely no way on this green earth I could have done this hike.  So, I’m awfully proud of myself.  The views at the top were absolutely breath taking.  You could see all the way to British Columbia today.

The entire trip up I was thanking Biker Barre for giving me strength.  WOW that up was horrendous.  I did learn that when my heart felt like it was going to explode it was only beating in the 170s.  LOL.  The entire trip down I was just mentally trying to focus on everything and anything but the pain in my knees.  For what goes up must come down.

The funniest part of this entire hike death march is that I kicked my brothers asses.  They started calling me mountain pony.  I just kept moving forward.  It took us 4 hours and 53 minutes to get to the top and just over 2 hours to get to the bottom.  Yeah, quite the difference.

We shall see how they feel in the morning, but I have a sneaky suspicion I broke them.

Update: Went to Hoh on Friday (6/12) Ranger said, “Wow, that’s the hardest hike in the park.” Definitely feeling proud and, yes, I definitely broke them.

One thought on “I think I broke my brothers

Leave a Reply

