Let me tell you a secret

There currently are 318(ish) million people in the United States. According to the CDC approximately 78 million adults are obese. That doesn’t even begin to touch the childhood obesity rates.  Oh yeah, and that number also doesn’t count in all of those people who think they are obese and are currently on some diet. Let me tell all y’all a secret; WEIGHT LOSS IS HARD.  Anyone who says anything different is a lying sack of shit.

Most people think that the hardest part of weight loss is avoiding eating too much.  Honestly, that’s the relatively easy part.  Run a google search on “ways I can avoid eating” and 113 MILLION web pages come back in return.  Yes, for some people there is the addiction of food (which is a category all of its own), but overall that isn’t the hard part.

What is the hard part you ask?  Being strong for yourself every single day.  Only YOU can keep from eating when you are hungry.  Only YOU can take your ass to the gym when you just aren’t feeling it.  Only YOU, only YOU, only YOU.  It’s freaking exhausting, and when you are going it alone without support it’s even worse.  Add on hitting a plateau, which everyone hits, it makes even the strongest person want to fall into a crying puddle on the floor shoving every comfort food into their mouth.  Or, in my case, start listening to that dark place.

This week I had to have a very frank conversation with Sainted Mary about how in the last 2 weeks on my home scale I had only dropped .2 (yes there is a point there) pounds.  While, yes, I had lost 1/2″ in my waist, the scale hadn’t moved.  I had to be honest with her because, well, the dark place voices were starting to grow louder and louder and she needed to know that.  You know the voices.  The ones that tell me I don’t need a rest day.  The ones that tell me that I can short my exchanges for the day.  The ones that tell me that going to do the gym 6 days a week is a good idea.  Yeah, dark and scary voices. I had to be honest with Mary because if I wasn’t honest with her I know that the dark and scary place would win and I am not willing to do that.

It’s not easy to being on a weight loss journey.  What’s worse is that it’s not easy being on a weight loss journey relatively alone.  Yes, I have a couple of friends who are exceptionally supportive, but they don’t live around here.  They do what they can where and how they can, but it’s not the same as having them here or me there.  Most of my other friends don’t understand, don’t want to exercise, or in some cases claim they want to exercise but when I ask them to do activities with me conveniently find ways to get out of them.  It’s HARD to be strong all the time.  It’s down right exhausting.

So, the next time you meet someone who is really trying to loose weight I’d ask that you ask them, “What do you need from me and how can I help?”  Sometimes just knowing that they aren’t alone helps.

Leave a Reply

