When is enough, enough?

After last weekend’s run I came home, took a shower, and almost immediately began to feel itchy.  Strange, I thought.  I started racking my brain of any new soaps, scented items, or anything else I could have been exposed to and came up blank.  Being asthmatic and having sensitive skin I’m pretty stringent on what I use to avoid that kind of nonsense.

Monday rolled around and my upper arms were covered in a rash.  By the time Tuesday got here I was literally watching the rash spread down my legs.  One visit to the doc and two shots later I was told that I was having a hyperactive immune response.  Basically, I had inhaled too much pollen last weekend and my immune system was completely freaking out.  Similar to when you eat something you are allergic to.  Huh, well that’s new….we shall add that to the list of things I NEVER WANT TO EXPERIENCE AGAIN!!!

I was scheduled for a 10k race this weekend. I had already budgeted out the calories.  Now, I may not be the brightest bulb in the box, but when my normally white car is currently a green one I realized that running a 10k was probably not in my best interest.  I did something I have never done before, I scratched.  Granted, I swapped out probably the hardest spin class I have ever done in my life (gee, thanks Lauren) for the 10k to maintain the balance with St. Mary, but still I scratched.

I have come to realize that sometimes it is going to be in my best overall interest to NOT run the race.  Granted, I don’t like the feeling that came with it, but I realize that living to run another day is more important in the grand scheme of things.

One thought on “When is enough, enough?

Leave a Reply

