Click

Ever just have one of those days where everything seems to click?  It’s been raining and gross all week, but for this narrow window of time that just so happens to coincide with your available narrow window there is no rain.  Or when your breathing and your feet and everything else seems to just come into play the way that it should?  That was the kind of run I had today.  One of those magical (rare) runs.

It’s been raining here in the mid-Atlantic for 4 days straight.  Cold, dismal, yucky rain.  I checked the weather report this morning and it said cloudy but 60.  (Ha! On the 60 but I digress…) I knew based on the weather forecast for the rest of the week if I wanted to get outside and off the treadmill today was going to be the day I was going to have to pull a Shawshank from work and get out to run.

Driving to the park where Perry and I run I was debating how many miles/laps I wanted to do.  The park has a loop that is a little over half a mile.  Sometimes I run mileage, sometimes I run laps.  All depends on how I am feeling.  As Perry nuzzled excitedly into my shoulder his tail wagging profusely I said, “What do you feel like 3 or 4 miles today.” He was happy for either so I set my goal for 6 laps.

Stepping out of the car at the park, however, the wind was blowing so I was a bit nervous.  I’ve been struggling trying to figure out how to dress in this colder weather.  I’m an over dresser which means I’ve been over heating myself a bit.  I’m trying to be better.  I hooked Perry up to his running leash and off we went.

As we made our way around the loop the first time my legs and feet couldn’t have felt better.  My breathing was amazing.  Even Perry having ADD as we ran around the loop, for he wanted to do a belly flop into every single puddle, didn’t slow me down.  Lap after lap fell by.  Granted the wind sucked when I changed directions every two laps, but it barely registered.  Even the music was great.

Coming to the end of my sixth lap I gave serious consideration to do another two laps.  I knew, from past experience, that sometimes it is just best to enjoy the moment you are having and not push your luck.  The Universe really dislikes it when you do that.  I pulled Perry and myself up and 6 and was very proud of the work we did.  I took off Perry’s harness and he immediately belly flopped gleefully into the nearest puddle.

Springer run

Can we go again, Mom?

All in all today I did 3.74 miles with an average pace of 11:33.  Perry got to run, play in the puddles, and get a little off leash time when we were done.  Today is a very good day in our house. I really hope that this is the beginning of having more days that click.

Leave a Reply

