Linus and the missing security blanket: half marathon edition

You remember Linus don’t you?

I’m kind of like Linus, except my security blanket is Perry.  He goes everywhere with me.  He goes kayaking, hiking, and when the weather is right he runs errands with me.  When he is with me I feel invincible.

Tomorrow I am running the Run Like a Diva.  Unfortunately, not only is it a bit too far for his little paws on asphalt, but he is also banned from running.  Wha??  You mean I have to do this completely, totally, and utterly ALONE???  Oh crap.  Cue the anxiety attack.

I’m doing this race tomorrow to take the scary out of the March half that I am doing with a bunch of my friends.  I’m doing this race, at a walk, to prove that I can cover the distance.  When I walk it then I will know that March is just about building some speed. Given my bouts of anxiety and my absolute disdain for the unknown tomorrow is also about addressing the unknown.  Tiny little problem, I’m doing this alone.

The course starts at 0730 out in Leesburg.  Considering that I live about 1.5 hours away from the start line and the parking lot closes at 0655 that means I have to leave my house no later than 0530.  Which means getting up early to get there.  Which doesn’t bother me in the least.  It does, however, bother everyone that I would call my support network.  So, I’m going it solo.

I will fully admit that I am scared shitless. I will also fully admit that I would really love support.  Unfortunately, I’m going to have to tackle both of these things head on, without my security blanket.  Maybe if I put him in a t-shirt and he looks super cute they won’t notice?

Leave a Reply

