Eastern Washington: Yeah no so much

I left Montana headed for eastern Washington.  I wasn’t exactly sure what my plan was, but I knew that driving all the way to Mount Rainier area was out of the question for a single day drive.  As I drove through Idaho and into Washington the temperature shifted from a nice mountain cool to a holy-mother-of-all-things hot.  I was pretty sure I didn’t travel to Arizona, but that’s what it felt like. 

Eastern Washington, if you’ve never been there is a cross between Arizona desert and Kansas.  There are wheat fields as far as the eye can see, but with temperatures that cross in excess of 100 degrees.  What ever possessed anyone to say, “Gee this looks like a good place to stop to farm” is beyond me.  IMG_3842

I stopped for the night at Lewis and Clark Trail in Dayon, Washington.  To say that it scared the bejesus out of me is putting it mildly.  Not only was the park in scary shape, but the people staying at the park were rather scary too.  I didn’t sleep too well that evening.  I was up bright and early the next morning and headed for Palouse Falls.

Palouse Falls is gorgeous.  I wish I had camped there the night before, ah, lessons learned.  The falls themselves were magnificent. They are kind out out in the middle of no where, but it was totally worth the side trip.  20140710-065759-25079403.jpg

Note to the wise: Do not visit Walla Walla before 10am.  Nothing and I mean, nothing, is open before 10 am. Well, except for the Starbucks which I gratefully visited for the clean bathroom, free wifi, and my newest addition the blackberry tea. 

After spending a few hours in Walla Walla, I was incredibly lucky enough to get a chance to see two friends of mine in Sunnyside.  I scored a hotel room, something that I didn’t want to do, but there was no place to camp, and drove up to their family farm.  It was incredibly wonderful spending the evening with an amazing family, sharing a meal, and stories afterwards. 

If it weren’t for the visit with friends I could honestly say that Eastern Washington just isn’t my thing.  I know a brother who lives in the desert who would love it there.  To each their own.

One thought on “Eastern Washington: Yeah no so much

  1. Haha – I loved reading your take on Eastern Washington. I grew up in Western Washington and went to WSU for my first two years of college (right on the edge of the Washington/Idaho border) and was fascinated by how different it was from my side of the mountains. For me it was charming and a nice short-term change but I can definitely see where you are coming from!

    Like

Leave a Reply

