Mama you’d better not leave me

Perry, my 4.5 year old English Springer Spaniel, is not dumb.  He knows what

Springer Spaniel toy

Don’t forget Dough, Mama

it means when luggage comes out, or worse, my “big” bag comes out.  It means that I’m leaving him for a period of time.  Now, don’t get me wrong the boy is not ‘abandoned’.  I have the absolute best dog/house sitter anyone could ask for.  “Uncle Greg” spoils Perry almost, if not more, than I do.  I get someone that I trust to stay at the house, Perry get someone to spoil him and Uncle Greg gets some peace and quiet.  It’s a win all the way around.

That said, he’s also gotten accustomed to this whole “we go camping” thing.  He knows when he sees the tent, sleeping bag, etc get pulled together that means that we are going some place amazing.  I can only imagine what is going through his little puppy brain right now as I have both piles of clothes for the big bag AND the magical box are both out occupying the same space.  I hate to tell him that those things are not mutually exclusive.

I do know, that he has decided that he is not about to stay home.  He’s been “helping” me pull stuff together by dropping a tennis ball into each pile.  I also have found “Doug” the dragon hidden amongst the stuff I have put into the dining room.  Apparently, in his mind Doug is not getting left behind either.  He doesn’t know what’s going on, but he does know this, he is not about to be left behind.

Springer Spaniel Sleeping

My fearless copilot

Leave a Reply

