Three Weeks; let the anxiety begin

Somehwere in KansasThree weeks from today I’ll start off on my Grand Adventure. In the mean time, I’ve got one more shakedown cruise, a ton of research, and of course packing to do. Oh, and this thing called a job.  I’m getting nervous, excited, and anxious all rolled into one.  The closer I get the more I feel like I’m going to throw up from nerves.

It’s funny the reaction people have when I tell them that I’m taking a month off. It’s somewhere between shock (you have that much leave?!), jealousy (I wish I could go…), and pride (good for you! I didn’t know people in DC did that). What people don’t realize is that doing this is completely nerve racking for me.

I am not what one would consider a free spirit.  If you are familiar with Myers-Briggs I am about as hard of a “J” as you can get.  My Dad tells this story of when I was around 3 he caught me sitting on the porch steps on Easter Sunday.  He asked me what I was doing.  I told him I was waiting for them to finish getting ready.  Yeah, you could say that I’ve always been a planner.  So, doing a trip like this, far from my comfort zone is something that elicits anxiety.

I’m desperately trying to not get too far down into the weeds because if I plan to drive X number of miles on a given day by golly that is how far I am driving.  It’s just how I roll.  So instead of planning like that, I’m trying to tack it back a couple of notches.  In full disclosure, I’m failing miserably, but I’m trying.   My plan is this, take as many pictures as I can so that my superhero can see all of the things that he has wanted to see in his life.  Because, let’s face it; I’m a Daddy’s girl and the whole reason I’m doing this trip is for him.

My Superhero, My Dad

 

Leave a Reply

