Decisions, Decisions

I’ve done the rough calculations of this Grand Adventure of mine.  Right now the mileage is some where in the neighborhood of 7k miles. I’ve added on a bunch of stops based on Dad’s list and yes, admittedly, some of my own desires.  Mount Rushmore, Devils Tower, Glacier National Park, Mt. Rainer, Crater Lake, the coast of Oregon, and possibly Arches National Park on my way home.  Luckily, I have a month to do all of this.  Granted not as much time as I’d like, but enough time to do it all without feeling rushed. 

Here’s my dilemma.  I currently drive a 2009 VW Jetta TDI (that’s the diesel model.) Pica has about 82k miles on her.  She’s a great little car.  That said, should I put the 7k miles on her?  Should I rent a car?  Should I buy a new car and put the road trip memory miles on a new car?  I’ve heard pros and cons on all sides.  You know your car you should drive your car.  If you rent a car and something happens they will give you a new one.  If you get a new car you won’t have to worry about problems.  The list goes on and on.  I know that this decision is only the first of the many decisions that I am going to have to make, but it is the biggest decision that I think I’m going to have to make.  Now if I could just make it….

Leave a Reply

